May 2022 Financial Update:

Welcome back to Ease Your Financial Payne!

This month we mainly went to garage sales, gardened/did yardwork, and I started part time work again. Overall, it was a peaceful, chill month.

On to our personal finances for May:

Our savings account did go down because we paid off my medical bill and took some money out in preparation for finally putting up the 1/3 of our fence again. As I am writing this, the construction guys are starting on it today! We already bought all of the materials.

Other than that, it’s nice to be making a bit of money again, but to be honest we are using to pay for things like medical bills, home repairs, & gardening so you will see little change in our numbers for awhile. I’ve been working at our local farmer’s market most Saturdays (7am-12pm) at an Indian food stand with a lovely couple I befriended, I don’t make much, but I enjoy myself, get to spend time outside, and get lots of delicious free food! I also delivery drive part time now 10-15 hours a week. Honestly I made more money per hour during my delivery driving shifts than I did as an HR Manager/Insurance Agent/Office Administrator at my last job LOL and it’s way less stressful and I get to run around outside. My first driving shift I averaged $27/hr. My next shift I was just Emergency Driver, meaning I only go out a couple times if needed and I still averaged $18/hr, and finally my other driving shift I averaged $25/hr. So people can laugh that I’m delivery driving again, but I’m making better money than I was and have way more freedom & flexibility so that I can use my mental and creative energy on my business!

Our financial plan for this year:

  • Pay off Brandon’s medical bill (we still haven’t been sent it yet)
  • Pay the guys for the fence once they’re done
  • Pay to get my bottom teeth straightened again
  • Fix the broken window
  • Build up savings account again (to $18,000)
  • Max out HSA contributions (if we have one) -If so, we don’t need as much in savings.
  • Put all of our extra income, after our needs are covered, on the Mortgage. (If we get to this step this year.)

Our Partial Financial Independence Goals:

  • DEBT FREE
  • Brandon works part time at his job.
  • I am self-employed. I can choose how much or how little I want to work & when.
  • We need $2,000+/month in income, whether that comes from investments, Brandon’s part time job, my classes, my workbook, etc. it doesn’t matter.

Our Current Numbers as of April 30th, 2022:

  • Roth IRAs (Betterment -SRI Sustainable): $27,956 and $25,327
  • My small Traditional IRA (From an old 401(k) rollover -Betterment): $1,668
  • Tesla: $765
  • AYRO (Free Crypto from signing up with Robinhood): $1.05
  • Bitcoin: $869
  • Total Invested: $56,586.05 (Investments are still down a bit)
  • Savings: $4,307
  • Debt: -$118,292 (Mortgage only) -On track to be paid off by end of 2034.
  • Just Brandon is working full time.
  • I am working part time.

(To me, investing in Tesla and Crypto is gambling, that’s why I only put in a small amount.)

  • My Financial Planning Guide!
  • ThriftBooks -I LOVE them as a company & order all of my books from them now! They ship super fast, great service, books always show up as described, super cheap, & good for the planet because they’re second-hand, but you get to choose the quality!
  • BetterHelp -A week of Therapy for FREE!
  • Betterment -Invest your first $5,000 for FREE!
  • Back Market -My referral code: 6888f588d6f85083 -$10 off your order! Refurbished Tech! My sister & I both got “new” phones from there. They’re awesome, great quality, so much cheaper than buying new (by up to 70%), came super fast, was super easy to buy, AND we saved 123 pounds of carbon emissions, each!
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
  • My business email: themoneyparent@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: